Council Standing Committees

At the commencement of each municipal year, the Mayor appoints Councilors to serve on the Council Standing Committees. All Standing Committees of the Council consist of five (5) members. To view the list of current members, click on the committee name below. Items referred to Committee shall be in accordance with their areas of concern as follows:

Finance, Organization and Personnel Committee 

Assessment, budget, cable franchise, claims, purchase and sale of real property and its disposition, finances, information technology, insurance, leases and lease management, organization, personnel, purchasing, and taxes.


Mitchell H. Greenwald, Chair
Carl B. Jacobs, Vice-Chair
Terry M. Clark
Thomas F. Powers
Bettina A. Chadbourne

Planning, Licenses and Development Committee

Airport, Airport leases, Airport land use planning, broadband, college/city relations, enforcement of codes, easements, economic development, floodplain, development, housing, land use, permits, licensing, management of open space, conservation, planning, Rules of Order, wetlands, and zoning.


David C. Richards, Chair
Philip M. Jones, Vice-Chair
George S. Hansel
Robert B. Sutherland
Bart K. Sapeta

Municipal Services, Facilities and Infrastructure Committee

Cemeteries, intermodal transportation, facilities, infrastructure management and planning, fire, public health, human services, library, parks, police, recreation, public safety, trail system, traffic control, and youth services.


Janis O. Manwaring, Chair
Randy L. Filiault, Vice-Chair
Robert J. O'Connor
Stephen L. Hooper
Gary P. Lamoureux


Meeting Schedule:

All Standing Committees, except Finance, Organization and Personnel, shall normally meet on the first Wednesday following a regularly scheduled Council meeting. The Finance, Organization and Personnel Committee shall normally meet on the first Thursday following the regularly scheduled Council meeting. Items to be considered by the Committee must be received by the City Clerk no later than 1:00 PM on the Tuesday prior to the Committee meeting. The City Manager and those department heads needed by the respective committees shall normally attend the regularly scheduled Standing Committee meetings. The City Manager may designate a department head or other suitable person to represent him or her unless he or she is requested by the Committee to attend a particular meeting, but the Committee Chairmen will make arrangements to avoid conflicting demands on the City Manager's time.